Eastern Bay to sign friendship agreement with Jiangxi

The Eastern Bay of Plenty is just hours away from signing a friendship agreement with the Chinese Province of Jiangxi.

The Mayors of Whakatane, Kawerau and Opotiki are in China for what's regarded as a first for New Zealand.

The three towns are signing an agreement with the whole province which has a population of about 28 million.

Whakatane Mayor Tony Bonne says it takes place later today New Zealand time.

He says they've been made very welcome.

Sam Gardner