top of page
  • Jessica Doney

Eastern Bay Players Take Out Major Titles At 2022 ASB Rugby Awards

Omaio's Ruahei Demant has been named the big winner at the 2022 ASB Rugby Awards last night.

Black Fern's co-skipper Demant collected three major awards last night, including Black Ferns 15s and Maori Player Of The Year and the prestigious Kel Tremain Player Of The Year. It comes only a weeks after the Black Ferns first-five was named Women's 15s Player of the Year at the 2022 World Rugby Awards in Monaco.

Ruatoki's Stacey Fluher and Ngarohi McGarvey-Black also picked up individual gongs. Fluhler claimed the Try Of The Year title for her incredible finish against England in the World Cup final. McGarvey-Black was named Sevens Player of the Year.

Opotiki's Luka Connor was also recognised as Super Rugby Aupiki Player of the Year.


bottom of page