top of page

Voting Opens For Galatea-Waiōhau Subdivision In Murupara Community Board By-Election

Voting papers have now been sent to to residents in the Galatea-Waiōhau subdivision for the Murupara Community Board by-election.

Nominations closed on April 9th, with voting closing at 12pm on June 5th.

Whakatāne District Council Manager Governance Services, Chirese Viljoen, says two nominations were received for the extraordinary vacancy: Mansahn Kereopa and Jesse Morgan-Ranui. Ms Viljoen encourages people to have their say.

“Community Boards play a vital role in local government, acting as a conduit between the people they represent and Council,” she explains. “This is your opportunity to ensure your voice is heard.”

One position available in the Galatea-Waiōhau subdivision of the Murupara Community Board, after member Ken Bannan had to resign due to family circumstances.

Council urge those receiving the by-election voting papers to follow three steps: vote, pack and deliver. Voting papers can be returned via post no later than Wednesday, 29 May, or dropped off at the Murupara Service Centre or the Council’s Customer Service Centre at 14 Commerce Street, Whakatāne by 12noon Wednesday, 5 June. Results will be announced by 5pm Wednesday, 5 June.

Viljoen says information about the candidates is included in the voting packs, and also available on the Whakatāne District Council website.

“Make yourself a cuppa and sit down for a quick read, tick the box and deliver it,” she says.

“It’s as simple as that to be a game changer.”

Public Interest Journalism funded through New Zealand On Air.


bottom of page